With hundreds of thousands of drivers involved in motor vehicle accidents each day, is there any way to determine how many of these motorists are legally permitted to be operating a vehicle?
Data obtained in recent research done by the Florida Highway Patrol show just over 13 percent of drivers in Duval, Clay and St. Johns counties are either driving with suspended or revoked license, or no have license at all.
It is illegal to drive without a license in Florida, where drivers caught in violation face up to a $500 fine or up to 60 days in jail for a first offense.
A woman who hit a boy with her vehicle on September 14 could be awaiting just that very fate. Police said the woman was driving with a suspended license and does not have any insurance. In Florida, drivers caught with a suspended license face misdemeanors for first and second offenses, which can include jail and fines. A third offense is a felony.
The problem of unlicensed and uninsured drivers in the State of Florida is a growing one. When drivers don’t have proper auto insurance, they’re putting other drivers at risk, as well. This is why it is imperative to review your auto insurance policies to be certain that you and those on your policy are adequately protected.
One area that you always want to be sure you carry is liability coverage, so if you cause someone to suffer an injury, you will hopefully not be personally liable for any damages suffered.
However, perhaps even more important than liability coverage is uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This insurance protects you and possibly others in your household who may be involved in an accident with someone who carries little or no auto insurance. Therefore, always elect uninsured motorist protection at the highest amounts offered and with the stacking option.
For further discussion on this topic or any other feel free to contact the experienced attorneys at the Schulman Law Group at (954) 349-3300 or at firstname.lastname@example.org